Introducing my Reading Journey

Richmal Crompton.1


I would like to share with you my reading journey through the work of Richmal Crompton. She published her first ‘Just William’ story in 1919 and they have been read and enjoyed by thousands of readers, adults and children alike. Richmal Crompton also wrote many novels and other books of short stories. Many of these books are forgotten today.

I hope that this blog will contribute to bringing more of her work to a wider audience, celebrating not only the impact of the ‘Just William’ stories on many readers across the world, but the richness of other aspects of her writing. Initially my reading will focus on her novels published from 1923 until 1960. If you have a favourite William story please do let me know.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s